Jana Gana Mana – National Anthem of India

Jana Gana Mana  is the national anthem of India. Written in Sanskrit Bengali, it is the first of five stanzas of a Brahmo hymncomposed and scored by Rabindranath Tagore. It was first sung in Calcutta(now Kolkata) Session of the Indian National Congress on 27 December 1911. “Jana Gana Mana” was officially adopted by the Constituent Assembly as the Indian national anthem on 24 January 1950.

Officially and formally, the national anthem should be rendered in 52 seconds and it is mandatory to be standing when the National Anthem is being played.

National Anthem in Hindi:

जन-गण-मन अधिनायक जय हे, भारत-भाग्य-विधाता ।

पंजाब सिंध गुजरात मराठा, द्राविड़ उत्कल बंग ।

विंध्य हिमाचल यमुना गंगा, उच्छल जलधि तरंग ।

तव शुभ नामे जागे, तव शुभ आशिष माँगे; गाहे तव जय गाथा ।

जन-गण मंगलदायक जय हे, भारत-भाग्य-विधाता ।

जय हे, जय हे, जय हे, जय जय जय, जय हे ।।


The following translation (edited in 1950 to replace Sindh with Sindhu as Sindh after partition was allocated to Pakistan), attributed to Tagore, is provided by the Government of India’s national portal:

Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people, Dispenser of India’s destiny. Thy name rouses the hearts of Punjab, Sindh province/Sindh, Gujarat and Maratha, Of the Dravida and Odisha and Bengal; It echoes in the hills of the Vindhyas and Himalayas, mingles in the music of Yamuna and Ganga and is chanted by the waves of the Indian Ocean. They pray for thy blessings and sing thy praise. The saving of all people waits in thy hand, Thou dispenser of India’s destiny. Victory, victory, victory to thee.

The below video is an actual version of National Anthem sung in 52 seconds with Hindi subtitles. There are many other more artistic and musical versions available on the internet.

Sources: Visit Acknowledgement section

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.